algo (pronunciation)

Rashit

Banned
Russian
Hi,

I just started learning Spanish (Castilian, not Latin American). One of the first things I noticed was that the "g" in "algo" is not pronounced like the "g" in English. It seems to be a fricative, much like the French and German "r". Could someone tell me if this is how they pronounce "algo" in Spain? Thanks.

• Rodal

Castellano (Chile)
    Welcome to the forum Rashit, first, I'd like to explain that Castilian is the language we are taught in Latin America, and there is no such thing as "Latin American" as a language. That is a misconception. There is a soft sound of the g which resembles that of the English language, however there is also a hard sound of g that isn't in the English Language and it's more like a J sound in Spanish that appears usually when the g is followed by certain vowels: gestión, género, giro, gimnasia, genes, gerundio, general, gemelos, geografía <este último tiene un sonido fuerte en la primera g y uno suave en la segunda g>. La g fuerte al igual que la j (jota) en castellano no tienen equivalente fonético en inglés; la consonante más parecida que existe en inglés es la h y no suena exactamente igual y por eso es que en lugar de decir Juan (con jota) en inglés dicen Huan (con h) y en inglés suena: who-ann. -While the who sound is somewhat similar to the j sound in Spanish is not exactly the same-

Last edited:

Cerros de Úbeda

UK
    Spanish - Spain (Galicia)
    that the "g" in "algo" is not pronounced like the "g" in English. It seems to be a fricative, much like the French and German "r".
    The (Peninsular) Spanish "g" has two possible sounds, as Rodal very clearly explained.

The main one, the one in "algo", is, indeed, like the English "G". It is that in "goat", "great", "go", etc.

But there is a second, less common one, that is the one you are thinking about, when you say it sounds fricative to you, and similar to French or German "Rs".