All dialects: or

tabyyy

English, Spanish
مرحبا :)

I have heard many variations of the word "or" in Colloquial Arabic. Sometimes I have heard "wala," other times "ow," and this made me wonder how many variations there are of this word, and if any are specific to certain dialects.

Sorry for the simplicity of the question, I'm a beginner :D

شكرا كتير

Last edited:
  • tabyyy

English, Spanish
    What does what mean? If you mean the word "or," it's used to link alternatives. "This or that," "Are you coming or not?" etc...

HBZ55

Arabic - Tunisia
    I know, but I misunderstood his question, thinking the word "or" was a Standard Arabic word and he was looking for colloquial alternatives.
    Anyway, in Tunisian Arabic it's welle. People usually transcrible it as walla, but I find using a to transcribe a fet7e appropriate only when the letter is "strong" like Ta and Sa, but that's another topic.

Ghabi

AL/OL/Ar/Zh mod
    Cantonese
    In Egyptian Arabic, aw is used in a statement (I want this or that), while walla is used in a question (you want this or that?).

walla
    should not be confused with wala, which means "nor": la ... wala ... = neither ... nor ...

wala is also used in many fixed expression: wala Haaga ("nothing"), wala Hitta ("nowhere"), mish wala budd ("so so; not very good") and etc.

Hope it helps.:)

Outlandish

Arabic
    wala is also used in many fixed expression: wala Haaga ("nothing"), wala Hitta ("nowhere"), mish wala budd ("so so; not very good") and etc.
    Wala in the cotexts you mentioned is another word. It is actually two words "wa و" and "la لا". The "wa" is insignificant to the meaning.
    Wala hagah means: nothing.
    Wala hettah means: not a piece/ no where.
    Mish wala budd means something of mediocre value.

clevermizo

English (USA), Spanish
    I know, but I misunderstood his question, thinking the word "or" was a Standard Arabic word and he was looking for colloquial alternatives.