All IIR Languages: rape

marrish

اُردو Urdu
Dear all of the moment,

I've been hesitating for a long time, approximately for two years, to ask this question as due to international press reports of rape cases in India it made me think how it is addressed in the target languages and I wished to avoid being the one who brings this topic to attention on this forum.

Since I had have a long period of consideration I came to the conclusion, prompted by an Urdu article published in an Indian newspaper yesterday about a case of something which is not clear to me, and I think it's better to avoid the contents but I can share it with anyone on request however, in summary, which is necessary to proceed further with language matters it's a case of a teacher having committed the act of [Urdu] بدفعلی where the victim was a male student of a high school.

After this introduction, I would humbly request all those who are willing to participate to share their views and opinions about words that describe or define the act of rape.

This Urdu word which I mentioned reads bad-fi3lii بدفعلی'. Somewhere in the news in Hindi I found duShkarm दुष्कर्म being used which corresponds semantically as well as per word-forming with the Urdu word but I am not sure what is the exact meaning of it.

The obvious word for a rape in Hindi which I am familiar with is बलात्कार balaatkaar and I saw this word on some banners (on photographs) when scores of people were holding demonstrations but the most popular in my limited view is रेप 'rep'.

I haven't included Sanskrit but since it is the source of many words in Hindi, it can be revealing to discover whether any word or expression was used in that language.

Now when I come back to Urdu, the technical (actually not technical but juridical) term for a rape is زنا بالجبر zinaa bi-l-jabr which can be translated to 'fornication by force'.

I am ignorant of its usage in the popular parlance nor from the media so I think bad-fa3ilii is used perhaps instead.