All Slavic languages: Slavic dialect continuum

jadeite_85

italian, slovene
Is the slavic dialect continuum something like that?: Russian to Belarussian and Ukrainian; Belarussian into Polish; Ukrainian into Rusyn, Polish and Slovak; Polish into Upper Sorbian (or Lower Sorbian ?) and Slovak; Upper Sorbian to Lower (or the other way around ?) into Czech; Czech into Slovak; Slovak into Slovenian then into Kajkavian, then Shtokavian, then Torlakian then Macedonian then Bulgarian and from Bulgarian back to Russian

Is it plausible?

It's not a theory just a question. I'm not an expert, I'm basing this on my knowledge of Slovenian, Slovenian dialects, Russian and Shtokavian and about other languages the info I've learned here.

• Awwal12

Russian
    and from Bulgarian back to Russian
    Well, exactly this isn't true. Of course, Bulgarian and Russian are more or less mutually understandable (thanks to a great amount of common words), but their grammars differ drastically.
    Russian to Belarussian and Ukrainian
    Agree - through border dialects of Russian, of course, and mixed Russian-Ukrainian (surzhik) and Russian-Belarussian (trasyanka) dialects in Ukraine and Belarus respectively. So, among East Slavic languages such a continuum definitely exists.
    Slovak into Slovenian
    I'm not sure, but I doubt. Of course, Slovak and Slovenian have some similarities, but... Some time a continuum between West and South Slavic languages might exist, but it was destroyed a millennium ago by ancient Hungarians who just assimilated the Slavic population of Pannonia. And now it seems that South Slavic peoples mostly better understand East than West Slavic languages.

TriglavNationalPark

Slovenian (a.k.a. Slovene)
    And now it seems that South Slavic peoples mostly better understand East than West Slavic languages.