Am I being rude? [requesting reservations by email]

< Previous | Next >
Status
Not open for further replies.

markwolk

Polish, New Zealand
My main languages are French and Polish, yet I have been speaking English every day for the last 12 years, as I live in New Zealand.

Some time ago, I booked a small luxury hotel in an English speaking country. Later, I wrote to that hotel to also book a table for lunch there:
Hi (first name),

On the 16 January, we will arrive at (town).

I will take delivery of a rental car, and (...) we will first all drive to (your hotel) to have lunch and settle in (our room).

Please be ready for lunch for all of us (5 persons) at 12:30-1:00pm. I will pay for this separately.

(...)Awaiting your confirmation.

With thanks,

Kind regards,
And their reply was:
Recieved your email re lunch, I should just like to say, we dont mind assisting, but the tone of your email is almost a demand, regarding lunch (...), will be fine, it is likely we will have other guests in house for lunch and your table will be available at the appropriate time.

In future please, our relations can be enhanced with a request not a demand, without further enhancing, I shall leave it there.
Huh? :confused: Was my email so rude???

• elroy

Imperfect Mod
    US English, Palestinian Arabic bilingual
    I can see where he was coming from:
    I will take delivery of a rental car, and (...) we will first all drive to (your hotel) to have lunch - whether you like it or not - and settle in (our room).

Please be ready for lunch for all of us - because it's going to happen - (5 persons) at 12:30-1:00pm. I will pay for this separately.
    The parts in red are the problematic parts. The parts in blue are what they can be assumed to mean (although I know you did not mean them this way).

Suggestion for the future:

I would like to ask whether it would be possible to make a reservation for lunch at your hotel for 5 people from 12:30 to 1:00.