Am I glad to see you!

< Previous | Next >

Curiosity777

Korean
* Am I glad to see you!

It's my first time I've met this expression, but I don't completely understand why "Am" is placed before "I" and thought it would have derived from its interrogative form because it's the rule to place "Am" before a subject when to make a question, but interestingly, there's an answer on Quora that it has nothing to do with the interrogative but just an exclamatory expression.

I think such a structure can be explainable to think in this way that it's permitted to write such that when a speaker wants to emphasize a current situation "Am" but am not sure it'd be a reasonable thinking.

To add, I would like you to bring such examples as many as possible.

• Greyfriar

Hello.

It is in the form of a question (interrogative) and widely used as such. Definitely an exclamation!

Other examples - Did I cry when I held that baby in my arms!
    Did he run when he knew there was a lion behind him!

dojibear

English - Northeast US
    (In AE) there is often an expletive word before this common exclamation. The most common one is the non-offensive expletive "boy!" (which means the same as "wow!")

Boy, am I lucky that cannonball missed me!
    Boy, am I glad to see you!
    Boy! I am very glad to see you.

In spoken English the stress pattern is different from a declarative sentence.

Boy, am I glad to see you!
    Am I glad to see you!
    I am glad to see you.

lingobingo

English - England
    An even more familiar rhetorical question: Is the pope Catholic? (indicating that something is screamingly obvious).

But I would disagree with doji about emphasis. In my experience that sort of exclamation usually has the stress on the person: Am I glad to see you! (= you’re the very person I need here right now).

Last edited:

dojibear

English - Northeast US
    Good point LB. To generalize your comment: