apartment vs. flat

IceJB

Mandarin
Quote: He had gained two apartments and one requisitioned flat in Berlin.

Question: When I studied English from teachers of non-native speakers, they never pointed out differences between these two words. So how can I make a difference?

Source: The Latehomecomer by Mavis Gallant, a short story from her collection ‘Paris Stories’, which you can find in Google Books by the title Paris Stories. (This sentence is located at Paragraph 2 from bottom, Page 63.)

Thanks to whoever can help!

• IceJB

Mandarin
    They mean the same thing generally. Apartment is USE, flat is BrE.

There are some differences in BrE now, with apartment being used for some some expensive flats.
    Thank you Smauler! So here it is a case of rephrasing. (how do you call it when using B word to substitute A for a change?)

Andygc

British English
    There are many previous threads:
    Nevertheless, I find the use of both words in one sentence very strange. Mavis Gallant was Canadian, so perhaps we need to know if the words have different meanings in Canadian English. There's a dated BE usage in which an apartment is a single room, and there is also the original meaning of apartment: a suite of rooms set aside for the use of a particular person - as was customary , for example, in royal palaces. However, I don't understand the distinction between flat and apartment being made in this story.

I think the usage that Smauler refers to is more estate agent English than normal BE. :)

IceJB

Mandarin