Armenian: priest / teacher

sotos

Greek
Hello all. I want to know if there is any lingual relation between the meanings of "priest" and "teacher" in Armenian. I tried to find a clue by using online dictionaries and transliteration to latin, and I found this word that seems to have both meanings: գոյական. Does it really connect the two meanings? How about the word "Rabbi"? Is it used out of religious context? I am especially interested in old word, which may have been used in 19th century.

Thanks in advance.

• AniwaR

Armenian - Armenia
    Hello! The word գոյական that you referenced simply means a noun in Armenian, and has nothing to do with either teacher or priest.

I suppose the word you are looking for is վարդապետ (vardapet). You can read more about them here. I am not an expert on the subject and I am not sure how things were in the past, but we never call an ordinary school or university teacher vardapet nowadays. The word is still widely and actively used in the religious circles and contexts, however.

I checked the entry րաբբի (rabbi) in the 1976 monolingual explanatory dictionary of contemporary [Eastern] Armenian (link), where it is explained as:
    1. Spiritual leader* and worship servant* in a Jewish religious community 2. figuratively a teacher
    I can recall the word rabbi only from books and contexts somehow connected with the Jewish culture indeed. The word vardapet is much more authentic to the Armenian culture, so to say.

* - Please excuse my rough/literal translation. Since you seem to be familiar with the topic, I guess they will be helpful for you nevertheless.

[Edit]