As a programmer, I work more time than you do.

screamerer

Arabic
Hallo, Guten Tag..

Say a friend of mine is a programmer, and so am I.

I go comparing my self to him like this:
As a programmer, I work more time than you do. (knowing he's a programmer himself).

The fact that English uses two different words for expressing position (as) and comparison (than) makes it straightforward..

>>Aber wenn ich das auf Deutsch sagen möchte, weiß Ich nicht, was zu tun ist. Denn es gibt nur ein Wort: als.

The only translation I can come up with is:
Als Programmierer arbeite ich mehr Zeit als du.

The question is: how to express position/role while comparing at the same time?

Vielen Dank.

• Dan2

US
    English (US)
    Denn es gibt nur ein Wort: als.
    In general this is not a problem in language. ("If I'm right, we have to make a right turn here.") In fact, with a slight variation your English sentence turns into exactly the situation you're talking about: "As a programmer too, I spend as much time at work as you do." No problem.

(However when these two different "als" words would be adjacent to each other, I've often seen the "than" word expressed with the alternative word "denn".)

Robocop

(Swiss) German
    As a programmer, I work more time than you do.
    I understand that you want to say, I spend more time (hours) on programming than you do. If so, I find your wording a bit misleading. I would expect that the comparison in your words does not refer to another programmer.
    However, I would agree on the following comparison: As a programmer, I work more hours than you do as a teacher.

elroy

Imperfect Mod
    US English, Palestinian Arabic bilingual
    Total agreement with Robocop. "As a programmer" doesn't make sense in that position if both are programmers. You could say "I work more hours as a programmer than you do" but in that case "as a programmer" is arguably redundant.

screamerer

Arabic
    Hi. Thanks, Frank.