< Previous | Next >

Abu Talha

Urdu
Hello,

Here are some sentences for context:

"As a student, I think tuition should be lowered."
"As a parent, I think that neighborhoods should be safe."
"As a pedestrian, I feel that all roads should have sidewalks."

Specifically, I am looking for a way to say, in Standard Arabic, "As a ___, I think that..." and/or "As a ___, I feel that...".

If there are multiple ways, feel free to list them.

Thanks!

• Abu Talha

Urdu
    I would say رأيي أنّ but you could say أعتقد أنّ (I believe that).
    Thank you إسكندراني, but how would add your "role" in the formula, e.g., how would you say "As a parent, I think that ..."

I thought of على شأني والدًا , أرى أن .... Would that work?

Abu Talha

Urdu
    I find online that كـ is used, e.g., كوالد أعتقد أن ...

But I though this كاف means "as" only with the meaning "like", or "similar to" synonymous with مِثْل.

Whereas "as" here, I think, is as dictionary.com defines it "in the role, function, or status of: to act as leader.".

Is this meaning for ك also established?

Last edited:

إسكندراني

عربي (مصر)ـ | en (gb)
    You could use أرى it's common too.
    It's very common to use كـ and بصفتي. Your suggestion بشأني is used in some dialects I think but I've never seen it in standard arabic.

cherine

Arabic (Egypt).
    The كـ is commonly used:
    كطالب، كوليّ أمر... but someone said it's not correct (because ك is used for التشبيه which is not the case intended in such a structure). So, the alternative is to say something like:
    بوصفي طالب، بوصفي ولي أمر

I think there was other options, but I can't remember them now.

Abu Talha

Urdu
    The كـ is commonly used:
    كطالب، كوليّ أمر... but someone said it's not correct (because ك is used for التشبيه which is not the case intended in such a structure).
    Ah, I suspected that.
    So, the alternative is to say something like:
    بوصفي طالب، بوصفي ولي أمر

I think there was other options, but I can't remember them now.