Avuto/Abbia

< Previous | Next >

AmeliaB2005

English United States
I am a real beginner here.

I am trying to translate the following in past tense:

Ha i cappelli rossi (or rosso?) come se qualcuno li abbia (avuto?) illuminati su fuoco.

Is it "avuto" or "abbia"? How do you use either??

"She had red hair as if someone had lit it on fire."

"also out of curiosity: What does fosso/fossi mean?"

Thanks

• Kaia

Argentina -Spanish
    AmeliaB2005 said:

Ha i cappelli rossi (or rosso?) come se qualcuno li abbia (avuto?) illuminati su fuoco.

Thanks

She has red hair as if someone had illuminated it over the fire.

Abbia > subjunctive form of "avvere"

Avuto > past tense of "avvere"

Ho avuto un grande problema con la mia macchina = I've had a big problem with my car

Fosse = subjunctive of "essere" for "io" (I)>> Se io fosse grassa farèi una dieta (If I were fat I'd go on a diet)

Fossi= subjunctive of "essere" for "tu"(you)>> Se tu fossi mio marito viaggerei in Italia (If you were my husband I'd travel to Italy)

Fosso > I think this is a mistake...Not sure, could you please give us the sentence where this word is used? :)

AmeliaB2005

English United States
    Grazie per l'auito!

I got the word "Fosso" from the wordreference dict. I assumed it meant the same as "fossi" in a different context, but it actually means "ditch/or pitt."

I'm sorry, but I'm still not sure I understand the difference between "avuto" and "abbia" (what is a subjunctive form?) Which one of the two forms is proper for the sentence I provided?

"Lei ha i cappelli rosso come se qualcuno li abbia(avuto) illuminati (or prenduto) su fuoco."

My main concern is to say that: she had red hair as if someone had lit it on fire.

Grazie ancora

Alfry

Italian
    AmeliaB2005 said:

Thanks
    ha i capelli rossi come se qualcuno li avesse illuminati con la luce del fuoco...
    actually illuminati con la luce del fuoco sounds a bit awkward.