1. The forums will be closed for a major forum upgrade for around 2-4 hours on Sunday, starting around noon US Eastern Time (GMT -4, 18:00 in most of Europe). Details
    Dismiss Notice

Backwards pass (rugby ... or is it American football?)

Discussion in 'English Only' started by Cueta, Oct 22, 2008.

Tags:
  1. Cueta Member

español
    Hi, I would like to know what's the word for the pass in rugby whereby a player passes the ball between his legs and backwards to another player placed behind him. I hope I've explained myself... I don't know much about the game itself :( Thank you!!

2. Grop

Grop Senior Member

Provence
    français
    Hi, do you mean these extremely short-range passes in which you don't throw the ball, but hold it backwards and wait for an other player to grab it? I would be surprised if there was a specific term for doing it between your legs.

3. Cueta Member

español
    Yeah, that's it. As I said, I'm not an expert at all, but I didn't mean "a specific term for doing it between the legs", just the name for the strategy or pass that you have described so accurately.

4. languageGuy Senior Member

Kansas City, MO
    USA and English
    In American football (not the same sport, but similar), a backward pass is called a 'lateral.' The between-the-legs hand-off is called the 'snap.'

5. Shadowcat12 Member

Atlanta, GA
    English - USA
    LanguageGuy is correct in his terminology of American Football.

6. Cueta Member

español
    I should have started by knowing which sport I was talking about :eek: As I'm asking on behalf of someone else who wanted to know, I guess I just didn't even know how to ask the question.
    I really appreciate your help, and it's more than probable that the game I intended to know about is American Football.

7. ewie

ewie Senior Member

Elsewhere
    English English