banned (has banned?)

Phoebe1200

Russian-Russia
School of Rock, TV series
Context: Halloween is tomorrow and Mr. Finn tells the students that he's super excited about it but they inform him that they don't celebrate it at their school.

Summer
: Unfortunately Principal Mullins banned Halloween at Travis Prep.
Mr. Finn: What? You can't ban Halloween. Halloween is like rock'n'roll. It belongs to the people. And there's candy!

Is she referring to a particular point in the past with her use of the past simple?
Could she have used the present perfect "Unfortunately Principal Mullins has banned Halloween..."?

• Serious dude

Arabic
    Present perfect is the same as past simple; there's a small difference between them. For example, if you want to say that you studied in this universal without stating a specific time. Then, you should use present perfect

1.I have studied in this universal.
    2.I studied in this universal 10 years ago.

Another thing, is that, when we want to talk that we have just done something from a small amount of time or now, we use present perfect.

-I have just eaten my breakfast

Phoebe1200

Russian-Russia
    Thank you, both for your replies.:):)

Do you think she has a particular point in the past in mind with her use of the past simple?

Serious dude

Arabic
    Thank you, both for your replies.:):)

Do you think she has a particular point in the past in mind with her use of the past simple?
    I think banning the Halloween happened from a near time because reporters tend to talk about somethings that have just happened recently. So, when she used the past simple, I believe she was talking about something happened 1 week ago or more. I am not quite sure though.

Last edited:

SevenDays

Spanish
    School of Rock, TV series
    Context: Halloween is tomorrow and Mr. Finn tells the students that he's super excited about it but they inform him that they don't celebrate it at their school.

Summer