Better/Little-the tt pronunciation

< Previous | Next >

will.espmx

Portugués, Brasil
Hi,
I learned that in Better/ Little the TT is pronounced as an R (American English), but in British English the TT is usually pronounced with T. Then:

In the song in question:
a) What's the pronunciation of Bonnie Tyler for Little and Better?
b) Whisch the native language of Bonnie Tyler:English or Welsh?
c) What is the general pronunciation for the TT in Wales?
Excuse me for my mistakes. I'm new in English!

Last edited:
  • brooklyn13

American English
    I learned that in Better/ Little the TT is pronounced as an R (American English), but in British English the TT is usually pronounced with T.
    ^^I am not sure of the answers to the other questions, but to clarify, the TT is not pronounced as a 'R', but a 'D', in American English.. :)

Alxmrphi

UK English
    In American English it's called an alveolar trill, or more commonly 'tapping/flapping'.
    We have some areas in British English that use an [r] in this environment, one of which being some speakers in my area.

mplsray

^^I am not sure of the answers to the other questions, but to clarify, the TT is not pronounced as a 'R', but a 'D', in American English.. :)
    The original poster's native language is Portuguese, which includes an alveolar tap [ɾ], represented in print by a single "r." This is the same consonant as in the middle of "little" and "pedal" in some accents in American English, which is commonly represented as a "d" by those whose accent does not include it.

It seems to me that describing this sound as a "d" has the potential to mislead those learning English as a foreign language. This is a link to a page which includes the pronunciation of a speaker of British English for the word "pedal." If someone trying to speak with an American pronunciation were to use that "d" sound in his pronunciation of "better," I expect that it would sound rather odd to me.

Stain

Italian
    Hi everyone!