bootleg or pirate?

< Previous | Next >

pollofrito

Mexico - Español
Hi everyone,

Is there any difference between the usage of the terms 'bootleg' and 'pirate', refering to illegal copies of e.g. CDs?

Cheers,

El Pollo

• ewie

English English
    I'm not an expert, Pollo, but to me the difference is this:
    bootleg CD ~ one that's either (a) stolen, or (b) sold to you as genuine when it isn't.
    pirate CD ~ one that's been deliberately and knowingly illegally reproduced.
    i.e. bootleg, more emphasis on the way it comes to be in your possession; pirate, more emphasis on how the item is manufactured.

Last edited:

rsweet

English, North America
    I would say that a bootleg CD would be more like a recording that was made on the sly without permission or final approval from the group being recorded--like a recording of a live concert.

A pirated CD or DVD (or software program) is one that is illegally copied from the original.

RoseLilly

Banned
    USA English
    I must disagree with ewie's interpretation.

There are people whose hobby is collecting old bootlegs. If you look on eBay, you'll see many bootleg CD's and records for sale -- advertised as bootlegs. They were all intentionally, knowingly, and deliberately copied and sold. Bootlegs are mass-produced. A single illegal copy cannot be a bootleg.

A single illegal copy is a pirated copy. Today many people use the internet to download and make pirates of CDs. It's also possible to buy illegal pirates on the black market. Pirates can be mass-produced too.

SO:
    mass-produced illegal copy = bootleg or pirate
    personal-use illegal copy = pirate

ewie

English English
    Like I said, Rose, I'm no expert, and probably shouldnt've posted in the first place.
    Having said that, I do stand by my (personal) BE interpretation in which my definsitisisons are the other way round to yours.

Packard

USA, English