Buki

Singing Samurai

English
Hello all,

First post here, apologies if I am posting in the wrong forum or not following appropriate etiquette. I am an opera singer by trade and I am currently writing a book on vocal pedagogy. The topic is how aikido relates to singing and to teaching. My question is about the word buki. Apologies, I don't have the kanji. We reference our bokken, jo, tanto, and bokuto as buki. The way we treat our buki is more like tools for study rather than weapons. Initially, and likely incorrectly, I thought buki meant tools based on how we approached them. After looking it up some 18 years later (yeah, I never asked the question before) I came to realize buki means weapon.

However, in loving the etymology of words as a singer, I wondered if buki had any root in the word for tool. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

• SoLaTiDoberman

Japanese
    Hi,

Buki is written as 武(bu) 器(ki) in kanji, in two letters.
    And each kanji letter has its meaning.

武 (bu) means "fight," "war potential," "military potential."
    器 (ki) means "tool," "instrument."
    Therefore, 武器 means "tool for fight or war," which is called "weapon." Such as "gun," "sword," or "canon."

BTW,
    士 (shi) means "person" or "human."
    Therefore, 武 士 (bu-shi) means "warrior" or "samurai." :)

力 (ryoku) means "power."
    Therefore, 武 力 (bu-ryoku) means "military power."

食器 (syokki) means "eating utensiles." Such as "dish" and "rice bowl."
    食 (syoku) means "eat."
    器 (ki) means "tool."

楽器 (gakki) means "musical instrument." Such as "guitar" and "piano."
    楽 (gaku) means "amusement," "fun."
    器 (ki) means "instrument."

Is it clear?
    Hope this helps!

Last edited:

Singing Samurai

English