camp meeting

< Previous | Next >

PastorK

English - USA
Salut, les amis!

I'm a pastor (Catholics: think priest, only protestant) and I'm trying to translate the phrase "camp meeting."
A camp meeting was a form of religious service, highly popular in American history (especially in the 1700s and 1800s, but persisting into the 1900s) and still occasionally conducted. The practice involved people from a region joining together at a central location for religious services. As they were far from home and this pre-dated the modern tourism industry, the people camped at the location. During the day, they might picnic, converse, rest, and play. The religious services would usually be held in the evening, often under a tent or in the open air. Camp meetings lasted for a minimum of a week, and often longer. There is a strong association between camp meetings and spiritual renewal / religious revival.

So: "une réunion de camp" is literal. But perhaps "une retraite de renouveau" reflects the religious purpose better? Or got any better ideas?

Mercy buckets (la corruption ancienne de "merci beaucoup" de mon père)!

• Grop

français
    Bonjour,

I suggest "camping* de rassemblement".

* I think campement de rassemblement would make an awkward rhyme.

I suggest you don't use the noun camp, unless you plan something highly organized: this is how we call military camps, not informal, tourist camps. Camping or campement will sound more relaxed.

I am not fond of retraite (it suggests to me this is only aimed to old people, or that you are retreating from something), but maybe religious folks actually use it this way - I have no religious education.

Note "camping de rassemblement" doesn't carry the idea your event is about religion. "Retraite de renouveau" doesn't tell people they should bring their tent. You should choose something depending on what your context makes clear.

melu85

France/French