Can you cook chicken and meat? and more

zspider

English/United States
I am a Spanish beginner. Would you be so kind as to look at my Spanish translation of the following sentences and tell me if they are OK? Right now I am operating solely in the present tense so, if possible, I would prefer corrections to remain in that realm, also.

Can you cook chicken and meat?
Puede usted cocinar pollo y carne?

Does your daughter know how to read?
Sabe su hija como leer?

When do you take a trip to Mexico?
Cuando vas hacer un viaje a Mexico?

Is it important to ask questions when you don't know?
Es importante preguntar cuando no sabes?
or maybe this one should be:
Es importante hacer preguntas cuando no sabes?

Thank you, Michael

• Mei

Catalonia Catalan & Spanish
    zspider said:
    I am a Spanish beginner. Would you be so kind as to look at my Spanish translation of the following sentences and tell me if they are OK? Right now I am operating solely in the present tense so, if possible, I would prefer corrections to remain in that realm, also.

¿Puede usted cocinar pollo y carne? - You can also say "¿Puedes cocinar pollo y carne?" but your translation is ok.

¿Sabe su hija cómo leer? - You can say - ¿Sabe cómo leer su hija?

¿Cuándo vas hacer un viaje a Mexico? :tick:

¿Es importante preguntar cuando no sabes? :tick:
    ¿Es importante hacer preguntas cuando no sabes? :tick:

Thank you, Michael
    Hope it helps!

Mei

marinax

español (Argentina)
    there is no need to add USTED, unless you are asking to someone older or to show respect towards the person. so, you can also say PUEDES COCINAR POLLO Y CARNE?

Sabe su hija como leer?
    you don't have to say COMO. is not wrong, but there is no need.

Cuándo vas a hacer un viaje a Mexico?
    close ! ;)

Both are correct. you can use either.

and: always remember that we use question marks at the beginning and end of a question.
    good luck. you seem good at it!

S.S.

Español