Cantonese: 架喇

• Hyperpolyglot

British Official English
    So I can say I like something and add 架喇 to it? Example:
    我鍾意架喇
    So it adds the emphasis of it to make it sound like I like it more?

All it does is add emphasis, right? What about the following example?
    唔好哊架喇 don't move
    食飯架喇 eat rice
    你去餐廳架喇 you go to the restaurant
    早晨架喇 good morning
    我愛你架喇 I love you
    你幫我買野架喇 you help me buy something

Last edited:

Jerry Chan

Cantonese, Hokkien
    Not really. You can't use it this way.

我走架喇 I'm leaving.
    佢走咗架喇 He's already gone.

I think with 架喇, you're telling the listener not to bother doing anything.

我鍾意架喇

唔好哊架喇 don't move
    食飯架喇 eat rice
    早晨架喇 good morning
    我愛你架喇 I love you

indigoduck

Canadian English
    我鍾意架喇

唔好哊架喇 don't move
    食飯架喇 eat rice
    早晨架喇 good morning
    我愛你架喇 I love you
    So many ways to express emphasis. Seeing your examples, "架喇" is definitely not meant for "one size fits all".

I'm a cantonese student so here's my interpretion of why it won't work.

唔好哊架喇 don't move --> 唔好哊 !! (i think the tone of voice takes care of emphasis)
    食飯架喇 eat rice --> 食飯呀! (instead of 架喇, i think 呀 will be used)
    你去餐廳架喇 you go to the restaurant --> 你去餐廳呀!(similar to above)

早晨架喇 good morning --> 早晨 ! (i think tone of voice takes care of emphasis)

我愛你架喇 I love you --> Hmm, this might be ok, but i think it has the meaning of "come on, i do love you" after you add a character so that it becomes: 我係愛你架喇. Not too sure about this one.

你幫我買野架喇 you help me buy something --> No idea what to make of this one.

Ghabi

AL/OL/Ar/Zh mod
    Cantonese
    Come to think of it, I'm not really sure whether you mean gaa3laa3 or not. There're also gaa3laa1 (as in 我話咗架啦 "told you!") and gaa3laa4 (as in 係得咁多架拿? "Only this much?") As Cantonese orthography is not standardized, 架喇 may as well stand for these two.