Care (verb): imperative forms

Xavier da Silva

Hello everyone,

I've been studying English for over 20 years and I must confess that I've never ever seen an example of use (by a native speaker) with the verb "care" (= to feel that something is important and worth worrying about - Oxford Dictionary) in the imperative forms. I've searched grammar books and dictionaries online, but nothing was found. I strongly suspect, after a post here that "care" doesn't exist in the imperative forms. So, my question: is it natural/correct to use "care" in the imperative, afirmative or negative?

The examples I made:

a. Care more about your family. They need you and love you.
b. Don't care what other people say.

Thank you in advance!

• se16teddy

English - England
    I don't think the imperative is really relevant.

"Care" is very commonly used in the negative. "Not to care" means "feel indifferent".

"Care" is slightly less commonly used in the positive, but in a rather different sense - "have tender, loving feelings". I would prefer care for your family to care about your family.

bennymix

I think "Don't care", negative imperative, is not rare. For reasons others
    have given, an imperative positive is conceptually odd, like telling someone,
    "Wish for a better life!" "Incline yourself to study!" "Care about your dog's fate at the pound!" "Concern yourself with your dog's fate!"

From the definition you [Xavier] quote: [to care =] to feel that something is important

there cannot (conceptually) be an imperative: "Feel that your future is important!"

Last edited:

se16teddy

English - England
    THAT sense of care, as *you* stated above, permits an imperative. The OP sense is different.
    I cannot read "care" in example a of #1 except in the sense of "love, have tender feelings". "About" sounds slightly odd, but it does not change my interpretation of "care".