carro, perro (Pronunciation R: alveolar/uvular trill)

< Previous | Next >

Durean

English - Canada
I've been studying spanish for 2-3 years now, and it took me at least a year to reach the point where I was sure I had just about mastered the trilled "r" sound, like in "carro, perro, risa", etc. However, just a few days ago, I realized that all this time I've been pronouncing it by flapping my uvula against the back of my tongue (uvular trill), whereas most native spanish speakers do it with the tip of there tongue (alveolar trill). I looked this up on wikipedia, and apparently some native speakers never manage to do it the "traditional" way, and do it the way I do. For example, one of my next-door neighbours, who speaks German as a first language, trills his r's the same way I do.
My question is, about what percentage of native Spanish speakers pronounce it as I do, the "untraditional" way. Does it sound strange to most native speakers? I know how funny I think it is when a native English speaker has a lispe, or pronounces his r's like w's. Would this be the same kind of problem? Basically, I'd just like to know how serious my "problem" is.
Thanks

• lforestier

Puerto Rico - Spanish/English
    It is a common exercise among Elementary School children to practice the following phrase "R con R cigarro, R con R barril, rápido corre los carros por las rieles del ferrocarril" (or something like it, my memory isn't as good as it used to be) just to practice the sound, which can be difficult even for a native speaker.
    Almost 50% of my fellow puertorricans (According to a study by the Univ. of Chicago) will pronounce the double R somewhat like a J.

DWO

Spanish - Argentina