chemical modifications, such as methyl groups

NewAmerica

Mandarin
The expression "chemical modifications, such as methyl groups" appears not accurate enough. For modification is an action of modifying, so "such as methyl groups" is not a case of modification.

Should it be written as "such as methylation in which methyl groups tag DNA"? (Sorry here you need some knowledge about methylation)

Marks of life
The epigenetic clock relies on the body’s epigenome, which comprises chemical modifications, such as methyl groups, that tag DNA. The pattern of these tags changes during the course of life, and tracks a person’s biological age, which can lag behind or exceed chronological age.

Source: Nature 05 SEPTEMBER 2019
First hint that body’s ‘biological age’ can be reversed

• Franco-filly

English - Southern England
    I could be completely wrong as I am no scientist :oops: but doesn't it mean such as methyl groups which are modifications of methane ?
    Edit to add my omitted "as" after "such"

Last edited:

Uncle Jack

British English
    The verb is "tag". I suppose the things that tag the DNA might be "chemical modifiers" (you would have no objection to that, I suppose). However, imagine the following conversation:
    A: What are these methyl groups? They aren't part of the DNA, are they?​
    B: No, they are chemical modifications forming part of the epigenome.​
    In this way, it is entirely correct to say that methyl groups are chemical modifications, and this same use can transfer to your sentence. It could not be used for methyl groups in general, only those which tag DNA, but it is exactly those methyl groups that your original sentence talks about.

JulianStuart

English (UK then US)
    It is fine and widely used in the field* (not just for the modification which results in the addition of a methyl group) for both the process and the result. The methyl group IS the modification and the process by which it occurs is methylation.