chez l'apprenti

< Previous | Next >

jilliane

Canada~English
Hello, I am unsure of the meaning of chez in the following sentence:

Le compagnon doit vérifier, chez l’apprenti, lors de l’analyse d’un circuit à courant continu ou alternatif monté en série ou en parallèle et possédant une charge résistive, inductive ou capacitive

I put it as with.

The journeyman must check the following, with the apprentice, when analyzing an AC or DC circuit constructed in parallel or series and possessing a resistive, inductive or capacitive load:

Merci!

• french4beth

US-English
    That looks good, jilliane.

In Grand dico terminologique, they showed "connected in series" for "monter en série" and "connected in parallel" for "monter en parallèle" but I'm not a technical expert...

timpeac

English (England)
    jilliane said:
    Hello, I am unsure of the meaning of chez in the following sentence:

Le compagnon doit vérifier, chez l’apprenti, lors de l’analyse d’un circuit à courant continu ou alternatif monté en série ou en parallèle et possédant une charge résistive, inductive ou capacitive

I put it as with.

The journeyman must check the following, with the apprentice, when analyzing an AC or DC circuit constructed in parallel or series and possessing a resistive, inductive or capacitive load:

Merci!
    I think your sentence is not complete, is it? There's no object of "vérifier" given. It doesn't make sense to me as it is. Anyway, I would translate "chez" as "in" here. The worker must check in the apprentice...(his attention to detail, the proper use of something, etc)

One reason that this is difficult to translate is that the French sentence doesn't go on to say what is being checked.

Monsieur Hoole

Canada English
    On the part of the apprentice?? I'm assuming that the compagnon is in some way evaluating the work of the apprentice, otherwise it doesn't make a lot of sense:)

slewis

UK (English)