clothe themselves with shame-facedness and sobriety

Irelia20150604

Chinese
The context comes from Jane Eyre Chapter 7

"Madam," he pursued, "I have a Master to serve whose kingdom is not of this world: my mission is to mortify in these girls the lusts of the flesh; to teach them to clothe themselves with shame-facedness and sobriety, not with braided hair and costly apparel; and each of the young persons before us has a string of hair twisted in plaits which vanity itself might have woven; these, I repeat, must be cut off; think of the time wasted, of--"
===
Hi everyone! I don't quite understand "to clothe themselves with shame-facedness and sobriety" here. Does it mean "to dress themselves with modest and plain clothes"?

• bennymix

"clothe themselves..." does not MEAN "dress in modest clothes" but it suggests such a way of living.

The *meaning* is that the person show all the time that they are ashamed of their body and very serious (sober) about life--no decorations or frivolity. This is standard Puritan or Quaker (some of them) or Amish talk (strict protestant). So the demand is NOT to adorn oneself, braid hair, wear colorful clothes, but to appear restrained, plain in speech and dress.

The context comes from Jane Eyre Chapter 7

"Madam," he pursued, "I have a Master to serve whose kingdom is not of this world: my mission is to mortify in these girls the lusts of the flesh; to teach them to clothe themselves with shame-facedness and sobriety, not with braided hair and costly apparel; and each of the young persons before us has a string of hair twisted in plaits which vanity itself might have woven; these, I repeat, must be cut off; think of the time wasted, of--"
    ===
    Hi everyone! I don't quite understand "to clothe themselves with shame-facedness and sobriety" here. Does it mean "to dress themselves with modest and plain clothes"?

se16teddy

English - England
    Last edited:

PaulQ

UK
    English - England