colleague vs peer vs counterpart

< Previous | Next >

Abedul_2f

Español, Spain
Hello folks,

I would like to know if "colleague" can be used to name a person who works at the same profession as you, but they not necessarily work with you. I'm a self-employed translator and I want to know how to refer to other self-employed translators.

My colleagues? My peers? My counterparts?

Thanks in advance!

• boozer

Bulgarian
    I would call them colleagues.

My counterpart would be someone who does the same job as me for a different company/organisation/country, etc. For example, if I were the accountant of company X, I would have a counterpart working for company Y, who wold be the accountant of that company.

My peers are, broadly speaking, all people of the same status as me - free citizens that are not lords, kings, counts... or slaves, serfs or other pariah :D

PaulQ

Banned
    UK
    English - England
    My colleagues -indicates a vague friendliness towards, or common bond with, them, e.g. "My colleagues over in New York do that sort of thing. Give them a call; mention my name."

My
    peers - very formal, old-fashioned, stilted. Most frequently used as an adjective in, e,g, "a peer reviewed journal".

My
    counterparts - neutral but rarely used in the plural. (You (singular) usually only have one counterpart; We may have counterparts.) More likely to be used when referring to an anonymous person, e.g. "I cannot do the job but my counterpart in Berlin will be able to help."

Abedul_2f

Español, Spain
    How about "My fellow translators?"
    But if I say "In order that my clients and fellow translators can profit from it", does it imply that I know those translators?

What I want to say is that I hope that the glossary that I'll include in my website will be used by other translators, bu I do not necessarily know them.

George French

English - UK