Complement/Object/Complemento/Objeto y qué?

< Previous | Next >

inib

British English
I have a long-standing doubt when trying to teach English to Spanish (peninsular) students. When I studied English grammar (in England) a direct object was one thing, and a complement was another (perhaps I was taught abbreviated versions of the full terms).
The object was the person or thing affected by the action of the verb. In this case, I'm talking about a direct object, so in the sentence "I love you", YOU is the direct object.
In Spanish, from my students' feedback, it would seem that this is a complemento directo or objeto directo, with no difference between the two.
I was taught that a COMPLEMENT in English was "what goes after the verb", with the few verbs (be, seem, look like etc) that are referring to the SAME person all the time. Eg: He is an architect. (An architect would be a complement, but not an object)
Can anybody kindly help me to distinguish these two terms in Spanish?

• Agró

Spanish-Navarre
    We call complemento anything in the predicado except the verb, thus we have complemento directo, complemento indirecto and complemento circunstancial. We also call the complemento directo and indirecto "objeto directo" and "indirecto". As for "circunstanciales", we don't call them "objetos".

EDIT: An architect, in your example, is called an "atributo", which is also a "complemento". After certain verbs "predicativos" may appear.

Hope I made myself understood.

Last edited:

JB

English (AE)
    It seems to me that terminology changes over time, as teachers find different ways to try to explain certain principles.

When I (a gringo) studied English,
    in: I am an architect
    "an architect" was referred to as a predicate nominative, meaning it was a noun (or noun phrase) that basically "equalled" the subject: i.e.
    "I" = "architect".

I am not sure if they still use this term.