Con il sopraggiungere della primavera

mwebster

United States/English
Can someone help me with how one might say the following in English?
Con il sopraggiungere della primavera, non c'è niente da fare, mi sento crollare dal sonno e dormirei sempre.
Also how would you say "aprile dolce dormire"?
Thanks for the help
Mark

• cecil

USA American English
    Mark,

I'm fairly new at Italian, but I'll give your sentence a shot, knowing that better minds will follow and make adjustments.

>>Con il sopraggiungere della primavera, non c'è niente da fare, mi sento crollare dal sonno e dormirei sempre.

With the advent of spring, there's nothing to do; I feel myself collapsing with sleep as if I would sleep forever.

I think the last few words are a bit odd. Literally "e dormirei sempre" = "and I would sleep forever," so I added the "as if" to try to render the sentence less awkward.

>>aprile dolce dormire

Literally it's "April sweet to sleep" or "Sweet April to sleep."

cecil

mwebster

United States/English
    Hi Cecil
    Thanks for the shot.

Sentence in question:
    Con il sopraggiungere della primavera, non c'è niente da fare, mi sento crollare dal sonno e dormirei sempre.

This is from a letter from an Italian friend who doesn't speak English (or I would ask them). While waiting for some help from this forum I gave it my own best guess at:

"With the unexpected arrival of spring, with nothing pushing me, (or if there was nothing to do) I would collapse from sleepiness and always sleep."

While literally I think your right about the "... spring, there's nothing to do", knowing this individual I suspect they would always have something to do.

What do you think?
    Thanks
    Mark

leenico

U.S.A. english
    I'll give it a try. I can always stand for some correction.

With the unexpected arrival of spring, there is nothing to do. I feel like caving in to sleep, and to sleep forever. ;)

leenico

U.S.A. english