contrepartie holding

deebus

English - UK
Hi,

I have been reaping the benefits of this excellent forum for years, but have never been so completely lost that I had to register and ask my own question; so here is my first post.

I need to translate the following list in a French language "White Paper" containing guidelines for the provision of financial services to the arms industry:

2.1.3 Contreparties
1. Contrepartie holding (CPH)
2. Contrepartie Individuelle (CPI)
3. Opérations (OPE)

This is in a section entitled "services et contreparties susceptibles d'être proposés par les établissements ba,caires et les compagnies d'assurance".
So "contreparties" clearly does not refer to "counterparts" in the classic sense of parties to a transaction.

The services listed include "Financement, Investissement / Placement, Opération de commerce international (Trade Finance), et Services, so I'm not really sure what is left?

I thought of "Export credit", but this appears to be covered by Trade Finance...

I found a possible definition of "contrepartie individuelle" as being "Principal trading" but this appears to be far too technical for the context, which is supposed to cover all forms of financial support to international trade in arms.

In the same way, I have no way of knowing what a "contrepartie - opérations" would be : is it just "trading" or "transactions".

for the full context, the "Lignes directrices" are to be found at: the ORSE website

Thanks in advance

• gardian

Banned
    English - Ireland
    I believe that the appropriate translation of contrepartie here is broker/brokerage.

http://dictionary.reverso.net/business-french-english/contrepartie

These would be services provided indirectly by banks or insurance companies to the parties involved in the arms transactions.

Just guessing here, but maybe contrepartie holding = a financial services broker that has a formal realtionship with a given bank/insurance company.