customers from home and abroad

< Previous | Next >

Chinese Su

Chinese
I am studying the difference between these three phrases, and I have no idea if I have understood correctly. Thank you :)

1. We sincerely welcome customers from home and abroad. :tick:
= ... customers from the country where the speaker is from [the speaker's nationality] and customers from abroad.

2. We sincerely welcome customers from here and abroad. :tick:
= ... customers from the country where the speaker is [the speaker's current location] and customers from abroad.

3. We sincerely welcome customers at home and abroad. :confused::thumbsdown:
= ... customers both when they are in their own countries and when they are abroad.

Last edited:
  • BLUEGLAZE

English - USA
    We welcome people from (around the world).
    or
    We welcome the ambassador of/from XXX.

...welcome customers from here and abroad.:tick:

Chinese Su

Chinese
    We welcome people from (around the world).
    or
    We welcome the ambassador of/from XXX.

...welcome customers from here and abroad.:tick:
    Thanks so much for you reply, BLUEGLAZE :D

Are you implying that 1 is not idiomatic? If so, why not? Also, I have no idea if I have understood correctly :confused:

I am desperate to know the real meanings of these three sentences using "from home and abroad", " from here and abroad", and "at home and abroad" respectively, which have baffled me for so long... Thank you :)

Hermione Golightly

British English
    In this context I'd use 'domestic' and 'international'.

'Domestic' refers to "Commercial activities conducted within a nation or a commercial entity that conducts economic transactions inside the borders of its home nation".

However I have no experience of the business world.

There's the same problem as with the mountain climbers.

Chinese Su

Chinese
    In this context I'd use 'domestic' and 'international'.