Cymraeg (Welsh): Pronunciation of 'ae'

Curt Jugg

English - England
I am a beginner in Welsh. I have several books for learners and they all state that 'ae' is pronounced to rhyme with English 'I'. However, I discovered this is not the case and that this rule only applies if 'ae' appears in the last (or only) syllable of a word; otherwise it rhymes with English 'day'. This is confirmed, for example, by reference to Wiktionary for numerous words. At least, I thought I had understood the rule correctly, but now I have come across 'cyrraedd' where this does not appear to be the case: inflected forms of the verb like 'cyrhaeddaf' still show the 'I' pronunciation of 'ae', at least according to Wiktionary. Is this an exception to the rule or have I misunderstood? Grateful for any advice.

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Welsh_Sion

Welsh - Northern
    My pronunciation of <ae>- as a native North Welsh speaker. (Southerners will do other things).

1. In monosyllables - like monosyllabic Welsh <au> or English 'I'. e.g. 'cae', 'maeth'/'ffau', 'gwaun'. (The first part of the diphthong is fairly long.)

2. In polysyllabics in the unaccented final syllable - like Welsh <au> or English 'I' e.g. 'chwarae', 'hiraeth'/'dau', 'haul', 'pethau' (The first part of the diphthong is fairly short.)

(Plur. ending <-au> and final syllable usually pronounced /a/ in my dialect - 'peth-a', 'cor-a', 'chwar-a').

3. In polysyllabics in the accented penult. syllable - like the formal, full pronunciation of Welsh 'ei' or English 'day' e.g. 'caeau', 'maethlon'.

(Based on Peter Wynn Thomas, Gramadeg y Gymraeg, 1996: 764)

Last edited:

Curt Jugg

English - England
    Thanks for your replies, AndrasBP and Welsh_Sion. So you would pronounce 'cyrhaeddaf' , for example, with the penultimate syllable rhyming with English 'day', Welsh_Sion?

Welsh_Sion

Welsh - Northern