Danish: Origins of R sound

utopia

Israel, Hebrew
Hello,

Does anybody know the origins of the sound r in Danish?

Thanks in advance.

• berndf

German (Germany)
    Ultimately probably from French. Could be direct, could be via German influence or both. To my knowledge it is not completely clear. But I am not an expert on Danish.

utopia

Israel, Hebrew
    Thank you.

So the german and danish r sounds are French? Is it something that originates from a Celtic tribe?

berndf

German (Germany)
    The traditional explanation is that it developed in Versailles court language and spread from there in France and from there to some other European languages following the Napoléon occupation. But this explanation is not shared by all linguistics. Some think it must have developed several times independently. At any rate, it is a relatively recent phenomenon (200-300 years) in all of the three languages.

utopia

Israel, Hebrew
    So accordingly only because Denmark is close to Germany the danish language got its r sound (from the French).

What other options are there?

fdb

French (France)
    /r/ is realised as uvular [ʀ] sporadically in languages around the world, for example in the archaic Arabic dialects in Iraq.

berndf

German (Germany)
    Yes, that is the reason why the explanation of a radiation from French into German and Danish is doubted by some linguists.

utopia

Israel, Hebrew
    It's interesting, because the environments both in danish and in arabic are of a trilled r.

And the question is raised, why those societies specifically adopted such a consonant.

utopia

Israel, Hebrew
    Actually, come to think about it, the Danish R is much deeper. It sounds a little different than French R or German R.

berndf

German (Germany)
    Actually, come to think about it, the Danish R is much deeper. It sounds a little different than French R or German R.
    Depends on the following vowel. Listen to, e.g., to rige and compare this to German rund.