Danish: spelling out loud words containing æ/a/e and å/o

Rallino

Moderatoúrkos
Turkish
Hej allesammen,

I'm a beginner in Danish, so forgive this simple question. To me, when æ/a/e are pronounced when reciting the alphabet, they sound extremely close to one another. So, when spelling out loud a word or a name containing æ, a or e, does the listener immediately understand which one is meant? Obviously with common words like lært, være etc, native speakers wouldn't need spelling, but let's say one is calling the police center to tell the plate number of a car that contains an A. For me, it would be pretty hard to make myself clear, without providing sample words.

The same story for å and o.

Do you have any hints for that?

• TheGist

Russian
    Hej Rallino,

Jeg havde det samme problem med vokalerne, da jeg begydte at lære dansk :) The Danish vowels can sound quite similar to a foreigner, but they are, in fact, very different to a native. If you're serious about learning languages, make yourself comfortable with the IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet) and use this dictionary for Danish as much as possible. It has IPA transcription, audio samples and can clarify lots of misunderstandings, though I'm still looking for a more comprehensive phonetic reference, which probably doesn't exist at the moment.

With that in mind, here are some basic guidelines for you. The letters "æ", "a" and "e", are pronounced like this in isolation: [ˈεˀ], [ˈæˀ], [ˈeˀ], respectively. Just like the English words "man" and "men" sound very different to an English speaker, so do "æ", "a" and "e" to a Danish speaker.

a [ˈæˀ] is the most open among the three and is similar to "e" in the English "hen"
    æ [ˈεˀ] is closer than [ˈæˀ] and is similar to "a" in the English "main"
    e [ˈeˀ] is the closest and similar to "i" in "pin"