debase, debauch, corrupt, pervert

< Previous | Next >

Artrella

Banned
BA
Spanish-Argentina
Hi, group! I'm studying semantic fields of many many words and some of them are difficult to understand without a meaningful example, which my book does not provide me with. If you can help me... These are some of the words

debase- debauch- corrupt- pervert

All of them in infinitive or past participles.

Thanks in advance, Art. :confused:

• cuchuflete

EEUU-inglés
    Hola Artrella,

Excessive bureaucratic doublespeak can debase a a people by persuading them that not even language is worthy of rules.

Debauched by the extraordinary woman, he abandoned his moral rectitude.

To corrupt the electoral process, the politician jailed his opponents.

Some say that to incorporate English words into Spanish is to pervert a noble language.

Please try to find some more uplifting words next time,

C

Artrella

Banned
    BA
    Spanish-Argentina
    cuchufléte said:
    Hola Artrella,

Excessive bureaucratic doublespeak can debase a a people by persuading them that not even language is worthy of rules.

Debauched by the extraordinary woman, he abandoned his moral rectitude.

To corrupt the electoral process, the politician jailed his opponents.

Some say that to incorporate English words into Spanish is to pervert a noble language.

Please try to find some more uplifting words next time,

C

No worry C! I have a "barrage" of words I have to study and need help with examples... I won't leave you alone, people! Thanks a lot, Art. :)

lercarafridi

Spain, Spanish
    debase- debauch- corrupt- pervert
    I would sooner kneel one mile away than debase myself and admit I was wrong

Spring break brings debauchery to most American campuses

Government officials were corrupted by rumrunners

The media generally tends to pervert the real facts (to alter)

:D I hope it helps

Artrella

Banned
    BA
    Spanish-Argentina
    lercarafridi said: