destined to be, already written/decided

paumuffin

Argentinian Spanish, English
Hello everyone!
My name is Paula (I'm from Argentina and do not speak gorgeous English :p)
I love arabic music, food, art and so..! I first got in touch with that culture when I was a child, because my grandmother's sisters had been all born in Lebanon. I'm also studying to be a Chef, and I'm thinking about getting specialized in arabic cuisine, as I'm used to eat it at home everyday (L) (and I CAN cook it) :p

I'm not looking for a translation from spanish/english to arabic language, but an...mmm 'interpretation' (?) right in arabic.

I would like to get a proverb/word/phrase (written) that is related to 'destiny', to what we can't change, like..tomorrow's sunset!
Someone told me about a word, I think it was 'maktub' or something like that... but I don't want to translate those 'letters' or pronunciation in spanish into arabic, with a translator! I want the 'real' written word/phrase :p from an arabian person or someone like you who know a LOT! =)
I also think that word (maktub) is related to Allah (?) Like there are many things that 'he' decides and the people under that religion, cannot change.
I'm not quite a religious person (though, I 'was born' christian), so I wouldn't like to make reference to a special god (Allah, God, or whoever)

The idea is that there are some things we don't decide.. such as our skin color, for example. If I would like to have it green I couldn't because that's not on me (?) Skin colours are black, yellow, white and that's all! I don't care if those things are on Allah or God, or whoever, but the thing is that they are not on US. Hope you understand the example :p
Leaving apart if you believe in destiny or not, there ARE some things that we do not decide...