"Did she say anything about friends who are boys?"

Discussion in 'Русский (Russian)' started by Downeasta, May 27, 2011.

1. Downeasta New Member

English-USA
    I was recently having a conversation with a russian friend of mine, who mentioned that her mother said "You are too busy to have a boyfriend!!"

I tried to answer with "Did she say anything about friends who are boys?" in Russian, but realized it may sound a bit odd. Do you see what I was trying to do there? Splitting "boyfriend" up into boys, who are your friend. How would one say that in russian?

Basically, I'd like a translation of

""Did she say anything about friends who are boys?""

Thanks!!

2. I'm going to take a shot at this just for the fun of it. I'm sure I'm wrong because my Russian is not very good.

Сказала ли она что-нибудь о мужских друзьях?

может быть

Сказала ли она что-нибудь о друзьях мужского пола?

3. eni8ma

eni8ma Senior Member

Australia
    English - Australia
    BTW, I'm a beginner as well :) Here's my two bob's worth:

Сказала ли она что-либо о друзьях?
    Did she say anything at all about your male friends?

Сказала ли она что-либо о подругах?
    Did she say anything at all about your female friends?

Russians use a different word to denote female friends.

друг - male friend
    подруга - female friend
    подружка - girlfriend

4. Natalisha Senior Member

Russian
    How did you say that in Russian?

5. rdimd Member

Riga
    Latvian, Slow Russian
    IMHO, this woman said something like (literally) 'You are too busy to have a guy/young man (парень, молодой человек)' which means 'to have a boyfriend' but has nothing to do with boys. So, you can ask 'Сказала ли она что-нибудь о просто друзьях'