die hard

< Previous | Next >

maybenot

Japanese
What exactly does die hard (as in the movie title) mean?

If you can die hard, how about forget hard?

Similarly, does it make sense to say something like love hard, live hard, eat hard, sleep hard, run hard, talk hard, sing hard, swim hard, think hard ( I know this one works!), or even teach hard (as opposed to study hard)?

• Packard

USA, English
    A "die hard" is someone who stubbornly sticks to his ways even in the face of untenable odds.

I think this is a play on words also, meaning "hard to kill".

anothersmith

English, U.S.
    Wow, you've asked a really difficult question! "[verb] + hard" is a formula that's typically used with certain verbs -- such as "study." "I studied hard" is a common expression, at least in the U.S. Because of that, we all knew what the name of the movie "Die Hard" meant, even though we may never have heard the expression before (I hadn't).

The verbs that sound unnatural to me in this formula are "eat" and "sing." I've never heard them used with "hard" before. I've heard all the other verbs used with "hard" before, but not frequently.

Others will probably disagree, based on their own experience.

P.S. I've never heard "forget hard" before today.

Black Opal

English
    It's an artistic title, for effect.

Die-hard (note hyphen) means 'never give up'.

Examples:

He is a die-hard Star Trek fan (he is a keen fan of Star Trek)
    She is a die-hard smoker (she smokes a lot and can't or won't give up)

The hero in the film, in fact, fights to the end.
    He is also hard to kill (by the terrorists).

I also found this on Wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Die_hard_(phrase)

And this on Phrasefinder

http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/die-hard.html

Both offer explanations.

You can use hard on the end of a variety of other words, including talk hard, live hard, run hard, but I suspect a new post would be required for each in order to discuss properly and in depth :)

maybenot