Difference between "с" and "со"

hinshawpiano

English - USA
I am a university student studying Russian, and right now, in class, we are studying the instrumental case, using the prepositions "с" and "со" ("with"). I can't remember: when is "c" used, and when is "со" used?

• cablino

English (American)
    The preposition "со" is used when a consonant cluster follows the preposition, this makes pronunciation easier.

In the personal pronoun:
    "мн" in "со мной"

A similiar exception is found with the preposition "о" but in this case the preposition changes to "обо" and the personal pronoun will be "мне", the rules must simply be memorized

Usually the preposition will stay the same:
    "с тобой, с ним, с ней" and so on

Q-cumber

I am a university student studying Russian, and right now, in class, we are studying the instrumental case, using the prepositions "с" and "со" ("with"). I can't remember: when is "c" used, and when is "со" used?
    It's a bit like using "a / an" articles in English, but opposite. If the next word, either a noun or an adjective, starts from a conjunction of consonants and it's kind of difficult to pronounce "с", we use "со":
    со стола <from table> - an apple
    "со стола" sounds smooth, whereas с стола :cross: would be difficult to utter...
    "с красного стола" <from the red table> (an adjective in the middle )

The preposition "со" is used with the following pairs of consonants:
    c+any со спины, со стороны, со сливками <with cream>
    з+any со значением, со знаком
    ж+any со жгутом <with a tourniquet>
    ш+any co швами <with stitches>, со школы <from school>
    л or ль + any со льдом <with ice> , со львом <with a lion>
    р+any со ртом
    м+any со мной
    щ - alone со щавелем <with sorrel>, со щелями <with cracks>, со щами <shchi - Russian cabbage soup>
    Another similar pair of prepositions is "в / во" <in, into, within, etc.>

в воде <in the water> во рту <in a mouth>

Last edited:

Awwal12

Russian