direct field goal vs indirect field goal (football)

morkovanka

Russian
Hi to everybody,

I´d be greatful if someone could explain the meaning of the following football terms to me. The ones I am interested in are direct field goal and indirect field goal. They apprear in a match analysis report with lots of statistical data included. The SHOTS section states:

How they (players) get to shoot:
- shots from a play iniciated: 6
- shots from indirect field goal: 3
- shots from direct field goal: 2

My basic questions are:

1. Whether the use of the above mentioned terms is common in English (related to the sphere of football)
2. The meaning of both.

Thank you very much in advance for your help.

• morkovanka

Russian
    Well, I did found it in the Internet, it's a pdf document that presents the analysis of the World Cup 2006 final match between France and Brasil. I would gladly give you the link to the page but the forum won't allow me to do so as I am still a novice here (the forum rule states I cannot post any links to other web pages before I have at least 30 posts here). It seems as I canot attach the documnet either as its size exceed the maximum allowed. The only thing I can think of is: google the "direct field goal", you´ll get no more than 7 results, the document I am talking about will be the 2nd or the 3d in the list, appearing under the name of FRANCE-BRAZIL.

Thanks to everyone again for all your help.

Thomas Tompion

English - England
    I've looked at your document, morkovanka, and remain puzzled. It's not in the language used in BE to describe soccer. It seems to be written by someone whose first language in AE and who is unfamiliar with the game.

Most puzzling is 'shots from direct field goal' as opposed to 'shots from indirect field goal'. I thought for a moment that it might mean 'shots on target' but it's in the category 'how did they get to shoot', so I thought it may be from a pass, but they use the word pass elsewhere.