disruptive/transgressive/deviant behaviors

< Previous | Next >

roberta_italy

italian
I am a psychology researcher I use these terms as synonym...
are they? or there are some differences for example in relations of the type of behavior, or the severity of behavior, or the context in which they are act?

• Embonpoint

English--American
    Can you give us some sentences?

To me, behavior that is disruptive harms others. Someone who has a tic, like Coop in Nurse Jackie, that causes him to touch people inappropriately socially, would definitely be disruptive.

Behavior that is deviant is out of the range of normal, and may or may not harm others. For example, touching yourself constantly the moment you are alone may be deviant but it is not disruptive.

Transgressive crosses a line of social acceptability. To me, that would be someone, for example, who chooses to defy social conventions--perhaps a man dressing as a woman. This may or may not be disruptive.

It differs for me from deviant in that (in my subjective reading) you are making a value judgement with deviant. You are saying it's out of the normal range and that's a bad thing and needs to be fixed. Transgressive strikes me as more neutral language; this person is acting in a socially unacceptable way but your use of the word (at least the way I hear the nuance) suggests that you're not taking a firm position on whether society is right to think that way.

So for example:
    Someone who throws things all over a room and creates a scene: Disruptive
    Someone who masturbates incessantly in a way that isn't healthy for himself, and possibly but not necessarily harmful to others: Deviant.
    A flamboyant cross-dresser who pushes the limits of society in a way that may or may not be unhealthy or disruptive: Transgressive

roberta_italy

italian
    thank you...
    the context in which i am using these words is the organizations/companies..