dokud, pokud, až do a spojky

Discussion in 'Čeština (Czech)' started by snufkin84, Feb 5, 2012.

1. snufkin84 New Member

Hi guys,

I am a newbie to the forum. Be gentle. I am a native English speaker, and have studied Czech for a few years now. However, I have never been able to understand how in Czech 'until' should be properly expressed. If I understand correctly, with time phrases we should use 'až do' e.g.:

Musím pracovat až do 3 hodiny ráno. (I must work until 3 in the morning)

As I think I understand it, 'dokud' as a conjunction is only used with a negative verb. e.g.:

Musím pracovat dokud nezemřu (I have to work until I die)

But... what about this sentence:

Nemusím pracovat dokud nezemřu
    (I won't have to work until I die)

So... basically I'd appreciate it if a native speaker could confirm if I am right in the above examples, and perhaps offer a grammatical explanation as to how does one use 'until/dokud' as a conjunction? And what is the difference between 'dokud' and 'pokud'? Sorry for all the questions, but this has been bothering me for so long!!

2. qetu New Member

Hi,

I think you got the gist of it. You made just a little mistake in the first sentence. It's supposed to be "až do tří hodin do rána".

And as for the difference between "dokud" and "pokud", "pokud" means "if". For example:

Pokud ho uvidíš, zavolej mi.
    If you see him, call me.

"Pokud" is often replaced by "jestli" which is more commonly used.

Good luck with your Czech :).

3. evice-palice

evice-palice Member

Czech
    Hello snufkin!
    I must say this is hard matter for a native speaker^^

As you said, if you use "až do" then it must be followed by a noun (genitive case). It may be an hour, part of a day (week, year), some event...
    E.g. až do svítání (till daybreak), až do smrti(until death), až do (konce) listopadu (until the end of November), až do odjezdu (until the departure) etc.