drinking straw - popote

sr artist

Member
usa - english
hola,

yo hablaba con una senora (no senorita) en un restaurante (in Texas) la semana proxima y ella me dijo que la palabra correcta para la cosa que se chupa una bebida se llame "popote"..... es correcto ?

Soy estudiante, pero no puedo encontrar este palabra in el dicionario.....
Yo encontre' la palabra "pajilla"..
in English we call this thing a "straw"...... it's used for drinking liquids like soft drinks or water........

mil gracias !!

• budhazel

New Member
    Mexico - Spanish
    Estoy de acuedo con Kibramoa, si estabas en Texas es comun usar popote. Los Tejanos usan un lenguaje parecido al de Mexico, pero mocho. Mi esposo es de Nicaragua y alli usan la palabra pajilla.

Stolker

Banned
    Spain
    Estoy de acuedo con Kibramoa, si estabas en Texas es comun usar popote. Los Tejanos usan un lenguaje parecido al de Mexico, pero mocho. Mi esposo es de Nicaragua y alli usan la palabra pajilla.
    En España la llamamos pajita.

Sr. Artist, me has hecho reír mucho con esto:

"yo hablaba con una señora (no señorita) en un restaurante..." (Gosh! Are those two species of women? I wish to know what makes them so "different". Only "señoras" are allowed to make use of drinking straws in Texas? :D)

alexacohen

Banned
    Spanish. Spain
    In Mexico is called popote. But it seems that each country has its own word for it. I've heard pajilla, calemete, caña, cañita, etc... Read this thread.
    :)
    I agree with Kibramoa, every country has a different word for it. In Spain is pajita.
    And always pajita. Don't you ever use paja, which is a entirely different thing. Specially if you are talking with a señora or señorita.

romarsan

Senior Member
    SPAIN - SPANISH
    I agree with Kibramoa, every country has a different word for it. In Spain is pajita.
    And always pajita. Don't you ever use paja, which is a entirely different thing. Specially if you are talking with a señora or señorita.