during

< Previous | Next >

Hiden

japanese
When I was a high school student, I was taught that a gerund is not used after during because English speakers tend to avoid repeating the same form after it. Is that true? I agree that a gerund is not used after during, but I doubt the truthe of the reason. I would appreciate any opinions.

Hide

Last edited by a moderator:
  • owlman5

English-US
    I agree with the idea that using two words in a row that end in "ing" sounds bad: during speaking ??? during jumping ???

Maybe that's what your high-school teacher was trying to say, Hiden.

Hiden

japanese
    I agree with the idea that using two words in a row that end in "ing" sounds bad: during speaking ??? during jumping ???
    Thanks for your insight. Yes I think that is what he was trying to say. However, I still doubt the truth of his reasoning. I would appreciate any other opinions.

Hide

owlman5

English-US
    Thanks for your insight. Yes I think that is what he was trying to say. However, I still doubt the truth of his reasoning. I would appreciate any other opinions.

Hide
    You're welcome, Hide. You're certainly free to "doubt the truth of his reasoning". If I understood his reasoning correctly, I agree with him.

Beryl from Northallerton

British English
    It's hard to imagine a gerund following on immediately from a 'during', but I would have thought that had more to with grammar than sonority.

There are surely plenty of repeated 'ings' in English that cause no trouble whatsoever.

Cagey

post mod (English Only / Latin)
    English - US
    We do talk about about 'sleeping during the day', for instance, so I am not certain the problem is the sequence of -ing forms, though some people may prefer to avoid that sequence because of the sound.

(I might avoid it when writing a speech, for instance, because 'sleeping during' is the sort of combination that a speaker may stumble over.)

dipsota

Español- Buenos Aires -Argentina