Easter, Passover

Erebos12345

Canadian English
What is/are the most common way(s) to say “Easter” and “Passover” in your language?

I know that many languages use similar words, if not the same word, given that these two holidays are closely related.

Amongst English-speakers, I must say that I have the impression that a lot of people are not aware of the relation between them (myself included in the past), and I think it’s partly because we call them two completely different things in English. Not that I’m an expert, but I found myself explaining the Cole’s notes version of the history of these holidays to a colleague yesterday.

Thanks

• TheCrociato91

Italian - Northern Italy
    Hello.

In Italian, people mostly speak of the Christian Easter, which is called "Pasqua".

To refer to Passover, my impression is that most people simply say "Pasqua Ebraica", which literally translates to "Jewish Easter". I don't think many people are familiar with its specific terminology: Pèsach or Pesah. According to Wikipedia, only 0.7% of Italians are Jews.

I might also add that most religious people should be aware of the relationship (which is made clear by the fact that we use the term "Pasqua" to designate both) and the differences between the two holidays. On the other hand, an average non-believer wouldn't probably know the differences between Easter and Passover. That's how I see things, at least.

Last edited:

apmoy70

Greek
    In Greek Easter is «Πάσχα» [ˈpas.xa] (neut.) < Koine Gr. «Πάσχα» Pắskʰă (idem) < Heb. פֶּסַח (Pesah̩).
    Passover is:
    (A) «πέρασμα» [ˈpe.ɾaz.ma] (neut.) < Byz. Gr. «πέρασμα» pérasma (neut.) < Classical aorist stem «περασ-» pĕrăs- of Classical denominative v. «περάω/περῶ» pĕrắō (uncontracted)/pĕrô (contracted) + Classical suffix «-μα» -mă, used to form neuter nouns from verbs, denoting action or the object of an action;