Easter, Passover

rushalaim

русский
[Mod note: Thread split from here]

What is/are the most common way(s) to say “Easter” and “Passover” in your language?

I know that many languages use similar words, if not the same word, given that these two holidays are closely related.

Amongst English-speakers, I must say that I have the impression that a lot of people are not aware of the relation between them (myself included in the past), and I think it’s partly because we call them two completely different things in English. Not that I’m an expert, but I found myself explaining the Cole’s notes version of the history of these holidays to a colleague yesterday.

Thanks
Russian [pascha] means as the name of the Christ's Resurrection Day (Sunday) as the Paschal curd-cheese meal.
Greek [pascha] derived from Aramaic *[patska] (today [pitscha-depatirei] "deliverance [by means of] many unleavened bread [pancakes]". An earlier variant was [patirei depasak] "[many pancakes of] unleavened bread of Pasak"). Aramaic "Pascha" nor any Hebrew word nor "to skip over".
English "Easter" is Babylonian "Ishtar" or later Middle-Eastern "Astarte" (English "[morning] star").

Last edited by a moderator:
  • rushalaim

русский
    That's very unlikely. When and where did Germanic tribes and Babylonians make contact?
    As far as I know Norwegians and Englishmen used 7 days week with a god per every day of a week, for example, "Thursday" was a day of Thur-god, and so on. 7 days week is taken from Babylon. Thus, apparently, there was contact.
    By the way, Bible heroes like Esther's name is Babylonian Ishtar-goddess (Venus in Rome), and Mordecai is Babylonian Marduk-god.

Frank78

German
    As far as I know Norwegians and Englishmen used 7 days week with a god per every day of a week, for example, "Thursday" was a day of Thur-god, and so on. 7 days week is taken from Babylon. Thus, apparently, there was contact.