educate student

Sun14

Chinese
Hello, my friends,

I was wondering whether the underlined part is idiomatic:

I educated him after class.

Thoughts: I am a teacher and I want to say that I will tell my students why his is wrong because he speak loud in class. I choose educate because I want to be gentle to avoid the verb like criticize. I would tell him some principles in order that he know he was totally wrong and won't make such mistakes again.

• entangledbank

English - South-East England
    Hardly. 'Education' is a long-term process, lasting years. When it's used about a single act like this (and it very rarely is), it usually sounds sarcastic or at best euphemistic: you gave the student a 'telling off'.

DonnyB

Sixties Mod
    English UK Southern Standard English
    But "gave a telling off" (post #2) amounts to criticize. :(

I agree that "educated" doesn't work there: I'd say something like "I gave him some advice after class".

Sun14

Chinese
    Thank you very much entangliedbank and Donny.:D I tend to avoid criticize because it sounds too strong and I want to use a positive verb. "Give advice" is fine but I think in China things are different because in China students tend to respect their teacher and listen to their words even be more obedient to them than their parents. I think the relationship is not like among friends but more like a senior to a junior. It just sounds more like a sentence between friends. I was wondering whether such conception is wrong. Maybe "give advice" could be used more flexibly. I have no idea about that, because in China people believe the power of the teacher that can totally change a person into a better one.

Myridon

English - US
    It is because I have no other choice.