El negro zumbón

el quesosísimo

United States of America - English
Hey everyone. I'm new to this forum. Just some background: I'm an American student, and I've been studying Spanish in school for about four years.

There's a song called "Anna (El Negro Zumbon)" that I understand for the most part except for a few words that I believe are cultural references.

Ya viene el negro zumbon
Bailando alegre el baion
Repica la zambomba
Y llama a la mujer
Tengo gana de bailar el nuevo compás
Dicen todos cuando me ven pasar
"¿Chica, dónde vas?"
"¡Me voy a bailar, el baión!"

The words that I don't understand are "zumbon" and "baión". (I figure "zambomba" is based on "zumbon", but if anyone wants to help me with that one too, I'm all ears.)

Muchas gracias,
-Mark

• burbuja2010

English
    Hi there,

Could anyone explain the cultural implications of this song? For example, I believe it was a popular song in Spain, if this is the case, when would people sing it? (occasions etc.) How is it viewed today? Is it still popular among some groups? Is it considered politically correct? etc.
    Any information would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

Escríbeme en español si quieres, gracias.

Ferry

Spain, Spanish
    Hi there,

Could anyone explain the cultural implications of this song? For example, I believe it was a popular song in Spain, if this is the case, when would people sing it? (occasions etc.) How is it viewed today? Is it still popular among some groups? Is it considered politically correct? etc.

Well, it's quite an old song, it was composed as part of the soundtrack of the Italian film "Anna" (1951).