ELL / ESL teacher

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by Thonia, Mar 23, 2014.

1. Thonia New Member

Illinois
    English - USA
    I am an ESL / ELL teacher. When meeting parents for the first time, would it be correct to introduce myself...as

Estoy la maestra de ELL, or
    Enseno las artes de lenguaje? or
    Estoy la profesora de aprendizaje del idioma inglés?

Muchas gracias!

2. danielfranco

danielfranco Senior Member

Soy la maestra de aprendizaje de inglés y de inglés como segundo idioma.

3. Cenzontle

Cenzontle Senior Member

English, U.S.
    When you have the equation of a noun (or pronoun) with a noun, the verb of being is always "ser".
    Forget about the "temporary"/"permanent" divide: that's for adjectives.
    "Soy la profesora esta semana."

4. fenixpollo

fenixpollo moderator

Arizona
    American English
    Hello, Thonia, and welcome to the forum.

I would just say "Soy la maestra de inglés." Trying to translate ESL or ELL isn't necessary in this context. If you try, you end up with phrases like "maestra de aprendizaje", which is redundant.

5. madafe Senior Member

Castellano, Argentina
    Estoy de acuerdo con fenixpollo.

6. Thonia New Member

Illinois
    English - USA
    Gracias!

Is the following sentence more appropriate to describe my title as the school ELL teacher?

Soy la maestra de estudiantes de ingles como segundo idioma.

7. madafe Senior Member

Castellano, Argentina
    Sin ánimo de ofender, pero decir "maestra de estudiantes", es también redundante en sí mismo, y aclarar "como segundo idioma" es irrelevante ya que los padres ya lo saben.

Yo te recomiendo que digas algo como esto:

Soy la maestra de inglés de su hijo, y me especializo en explicar el idioma a aquellas personas que no lo hablan como lengua materna.

8. danielfranco

danielfranco Senior Member