English teacher / teacher of English

< Previous | Next >

Imladris

Turkey - Turkish
[1] I'm an English teacher.
[2] I'm a teacher of English.

Hi,

If you were a non-native English teacher, which one would you use, 1 or 2? Does "English teacher" necessarily mean the person is a native speaker? Thanks.

• se16teddy

English - England
    1. is more succinct, but without context it is ambiguous - you could be an English Maths teacher. Of course, sentences never occur without context, except on WordReference: if the context makes it clear what you mean, prefer 1.

kw10

English (USA)
    I would definitely go with number 1, and it doesn't imply whether you're a native speaker or not.

Nunty

Hebrew-US English (bilingual)
    This is part of a larger question. If I say "I saw the white house" I mean just any house that is painted white. But if I say "I saw the White House" I mean the official residence of the president of the USA.

In speech, we indicate which of the two we mean by emphasizing one of the words: The first would be "I saw the white house" and the second, "I saw the White House".

In writing, it is usually ambiguous. The example I gave is a poor one because of the use of capitals in the name of the presidential residence. "She is the English teacher" (in speech) makes it clear that she teaches English language or literature, and "She is the English teacher" (in speech) indicates that she is from England.

The only way to make that a clear distinction in writing is by adding context or using different phrasing, which can sound awkward. It's a one of the difficulties in the English language.

sdgraham

USA English
    If you're not English and are speaking, rather than writing, any ambiguity in No. 1 will probably resolve itself through your accent.

Better, still, try the more concise: "I teach English."

Imladris

Turkey - Turkish