Era,Estaba,Fue,Iba

El Hondureño

USA;English,Spanish,Brazilian Portuguese
Okay I've never know when to use Era or when to use Estaba, could it be explained for me?
Also when to use fue or iba?(if this word is really used in Spanish)

• lauranazario

Moderatrix
    Español puertorriqueño & US English
    El Hundurano said:
    Okay I've never know when to use Era or when to use Estaba, could it be explained for me?
    Also when to use fue or iba?(if this word is really used in Spanish)

Era = was (past tense of "to be") Yo era un estudiante = I was a student
    Estaba = was (past tense of "to be located at") Yo estaba en la tienda = I was at the store

Fue = he/she went --> El fue a la tienda = he went to the store
    Iba = he/she was going --> Ella iba a la tienda cuando la llamaron = she was going to the store when they called her

Hope this helps...
    LN

cuchuflete

EEUU-inglés
    El Hundurano said:
    So Era is something someone once was, and Estaba is somewhere somebody once was at

Vale! Thank you I totally understand

Hombre, Laura has done a fine job with this. Here are a couple other things to help you know when to use the verb ser=to be, or estar=to be.

Ser is used to talk about the essence of something, the permanent qualities that do not change. Estar refers to condition or location.

Yo soy hombre. I am a man. That's my permanent condition.
    Yo estoy cansado. I am tired. That's temporary.

Soy lector. I am a reader.
    Estoy escribiendo. I am writing [at this moment, not all day long every day.]

Hope this helps,
    Cuchuflete

sergio11

Spanish (lunfardo)