Espresso (caffè italiano)

brian

AmE (New Orleans)
Ciao,

I work as a barista in an American coffee shop. I'm sure our drinks are much different from the authentic Italian espresso drinks, but here is a short list of what we serve:

Cafe latte = 1-3 shots of espresso with the rest of the cup filled with steamed milk and a bit of froth/foam

Cappucino = 1-3 shots of espresso with some steamed milk and at least 1/3 (sometimes close to 1/2) the cup filled with froth

Espresso macchiato = 1-3 shots of espresso with a "spot" (touch) of froth on top

Espresso con panna = 1-3 shots of espresso with a touch of whipped cream on top

I have two questions. 1) I've never heard any Italian speakers in New Orleans before (other than the few phrases my Italian family still knows), but I served a man the other day who I think was speaking Italian. He only said three words, which I'm pretty sure were, "Solo...con panna." I definitely knew that "con panna" meant "with (whipped) cream," and I surmised that "solo" meant "single shot (of espresso)." In Italy, do Italians order by the number of shots, and if so, do you not say "uno," "due," etc.? Do you not say "singolo"? Is "solo" common? Maybe he wasn't Italian and was just making stuff up!

2) Are these drinks popular in Italy and are they made similarly? Or are these "Americanized"? How do they differ? What's YOUR preference??

I look forward to hearing your responses!

Brian

• Elisa68

Italian
    Solo is not the way we order an espresso in Italy. I think it is the way Starbucks named its one-shot espresso. You are right about the con panna part.

In Italy we simply order: un caffè (corto, lungo, macchiato, corretto) without saying the number of shots.

Caffelatte (one word in Italian) is pretty the same (without foam)
    Cappuccino is like the American Caffè Latte.

brian

AmE (New Orleans)
    Elisa68 said: